Frequent Crashes of E-prime 3.0 During the Use of StimTracker Quad for Sending Triggers in EEG Experiments

Hi All,

I am a complete novice, and I’ve encountered some problems that are hard to resolve when using the StimTracker Quad to send triggers. I need your help.

Background:

I use E-prime 3.0 to design EEG’s ERP (event-related potential) experiments and send triggers through the StimTracker Quad. In the program design, a trigger is sent when a picture appears, a trigger is sent when a problem occurs, and a trigger is sent when the subject responds. There are three places where triggers need to be sent in total. Regarding the setting of trigger codes, I strictly follow your official tutorial Using StimTracker with E-Prime 3. (By the way, I am using the new laboratory of the university, we are the first team to use the new equipment.)

Problem:

I found the program runs very unstable, every time there is a trigger picture, E-prime 3.0 will crash, and there is no any error prompt.

I have been trying to eliminate the bug for many days, although it was not effective, but I found the following things:

1. The problem most likely lies in the trigger code used in E-prime 3.0. Because when I remove the trigger code, the E-prime program runs smoothly and stably.
  2. Even if the program runs successfully a few times, it still crashes after restarting the computer. The program is likely to crash before the second image with the trigger appears. But sometimes the program will also crash in other parts with triggers.
  3. The official tutorial Using StimTracker with E-Prime 3 seems to have some redundant code, because I have tried to delete all the code related to PulseStimTracker1, and only keep the code related to PulseStimTracker2 in the User Script (I also deleted all TrialInitInL and InLine1), StimTracker Quad can still send triggers successfully. And the whole program ran successfully once. However, after restarting the computer, the program crashed again.