Same-different task

Hi, I am brand new at SuperLab. I’ve searched the forums for a similar question, but I can’t seem to find one. Apologies if a similar question has already been asked.

In my experiment, I am trying to set up a same-different task. I have 4 events, as follows:

*English word sound
*English word text
*Spanish word sound
*Spanish word text

Text and sound are always presented simultaneously and must match within each language, but must be presented randomly between ss. In half of the trials, I would like the English and Spanish sound/text to match (i.e., correct translation), but in some, I would like them to be different (i.e., incorrect translation). The participant will respond indicating whether the pairs of words have the same meaning (match) or mean different things (nonmatch).

Right now, what I have done is to set up two types of trials (match, nonmatch) within one block, and have randomized at the block level. However, I am unclear on how to randomize the lists in the manner described above. I am also unclear on how the responses should be collected for best results. Would I want to just use two different types of ISIs (match, nonmatch) for each trial type, or would I want to create a conditional branch or macro to encode this information?

I hope I have been clear enough here. Please let me know if any more information is needed, or if there is a solution. Thank you!

You will have to use a Pseudo Randomization. Meaning, you will need to pair the sounds and words at the Stimulus List level. Then, SuperLab can randomize the pairings. You won’t need to use any macros to accomplish this.

Stimulus list name must be unique

I went to the Event editor and attempted to give the stimulus lists for the sound and text events the same title. However, I receive an error message in a dialog box that says the following:

“The stimulus name, “ES_list,” already exists. The name must be unique.”