Problems with Just Noticeable Difference expt

Hi all,

I’m new to SuperLab (4.0.7b) and am trying to set up my first experiment: a just noticeable difference study using audio files.

The current setup is shown in the image below. I have also uploaded the .sl4 file, minus audio files of course.

The experiment currently works like this:

[LIST=1]

• The Instructions block begins - participants are told "You will hear voice pairs - please hit 'Y' if you can hear a difference between them, or 'N' if you can't".
  • The Task block begins. An 'A' is printed on screen, then the first audio file in list A is played, then a 'B' is printed on screen and the first audio file in list B is played.
  • The Response event occurs and participants hit Y or N.
  • Steps 2 and 3 are repeated until every pair of files from lists A and B have been played and responded to.
  • The End block occurs, telling participants that the study is over. [/LIST]

I am having trouble setting up three things:

[LIST=1]

• I would like the audio pairs to be played in random. At the moment the audio file pairs are played in order according to their position in the stimulus lists. I can't randomise the trial because I need to preserve the event structure "Play A, Play B, Response".
  • I would like the voice pairs to be played three times before the participant responds, instead of just one. So it should be ABABAB-Response, rather than AB-Response as it is currently.
  • I would like the Y and N keys to be the only ones that 'work'. At present, if the participant accidentally hits another key the experiment continues. This isn't a major problem, but I'd like to be able to minimise the number of incomprehensible responses. [/LIST]

jnd.sl4 (8.25 KB)

• Actually, you’re pretty close already.