Thread Tools  
egarza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
egarza is on a distinguished road Posts: 3
Settings for continuos button press, Posted October 23rd, 2018 #1
Hi

We have an fMRI task with a visual analogue scale rating. The VAS is moved left or right by holding a button press. It was programmed in Eprime 3. We tried it using the Lumina system but it did not work until we changed it to repeated button presses, but it is too slow.

Is there a way to modify the Lumina controller to accept button holds?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Hisham
Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Hisham is on a distinguished road Posts: 1,199
Posted October 23rd, 2018 #2
By “button hold”, do you mean a feature similar to a keyboard’s auto-repeat?
Reply With Quote
egarza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
egarza is on a distinguished road Posts: 3
Posted October 24th, 2018 #3
Yes, like that.
Reply With Quote
Hisham
Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Hisham is on a distinguished road Posts: 1,199
Posted October 24th, 2018 #4
The idea makes sense but would require that we modify the firmware. Are you using the Lumina response pads in Keyboard mode or Standard mode?
Reply With Quote
egarza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
egarza is on a distinguished road Posts: 3
Posted October 24th, 2018 #5
Keyboard mode is on.

This task was done at the U of Groningen in Holland with another response box and they had to change the setting to accept "hold button" as a response to move around the VAS.

It would be great if this is possible at it will reduce our response times and it would be easier for patients.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Hisham
Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Hisham is on a distinguished road Posts: 1,199
Posted November 2nd, 2018 #6
I’ve been in discussion about this with engineering, and we’re going to add support for auto-repeat in firmware. It will take us a couple of weeks, possibly less. I’ll post an update when the firmware is ready.
Reply With Quote
Hisham
Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Pedro, CA
Hisham is on a distinguished road Posts: 1,199
Posted 2 Weeks Ago #7
We have new firmware version that supports keyboard auto-repeat. See this Lumina support page.

Once you’ve updated the firmware, you will also need to download Xidon 2. When you run it, go to the Device menu → Keyboard Auto Repeat.
Reply With Quote
Tags
button, hold, lumina, visual analogue scale
Thread Tools
Posting Rules
Forum Jump:
© Copyright Cedrus Corporation, 1991-2014.
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 AM.